The Netherlands

2016 FIM Team Long Track World Champions

The Netherlands


The Netherlands are the Team Long Track World Champions regaining the title they last won in 2013 after a decisive victory in Marianske Lazne. Germany was the runner up with Czech Republic taking the bronze medal. It was the tenth staging of this championship which has been shared between only three countries in its history.

The Dutchmen took command from their first race where they secured a maximum 12-3 victory over the Finnish team and they never looked likely to surrender their lead. World individual champion Jannick de Jong led the scorers with 18 points solidly backed by Dirk Fabriek and Theo Pijper and their winning two- point margin would have been greater had Pijper not fallen whilst leading Heat 13. Their all-round strength was such that they did not need to call on their young reserve Romano Hummel who was in the pits helping the team and experiencing his first big Final.

Multiple champions Germany finished in second place mainly due to the efforts of captain Martin Smolinski who was the meeting’s top scorer with 23 points whilst appearing before their home fans spurred the Czech team who were delighted to secure a bronze against strong opposition and comfortably ahead of Great Britain the 2015 winners.


Jannick de Jong
Theo Pijper
Dirk Fabriek
Romano Hummel