2017 FIM Team Speedway Under 21 World Champion

Team Manager: Rafal Dobrucki
Riders: Bartosz Smeklata, Kacper Woryna, Maksym Drabik, Dominic Kubera, Rafal Karczmarz


Poland's youngsters took their tenth FIM Team Speedway U21 World Championship title on home soil in Rybnik with a devastating second half to the meeting, collecting 27 points out of 30 in the final 10 heats. Heavy rain overnight had left the track unfit for practice although the track staff worked wonders and produced a surface that caused no problems to the riders and produced some good racing.

With last year's individual World Champion Max Fricke taking his first rides since suffering a serious back injury, Australia were always sure to face a difficult task to contain the rampant Poles, however Jack Holder and Brady Kurtz scored twelve points each to match the home team in the early stages, with debutant Josh Pickering also making a promising contribution.

The Aussies had held a one-point lead at the halfway stage but the young Poles dug deep and secured their victory with three races remaining, going on to complete the meeting with a ten-point advantage. Poland scored in every race except for Heat 8 when captain Kacper Woryna shed a chain.

Denmark took the bronze medal after a heroic effort from reserve rider Frederik Jakobsen, who scored nearly half of the team’s points from his five rides. Despite narrowly leading Denmark in the early stages, Great Britain were never able to match the others for speed and looked sadly underpowered, collecting only three points in the last twelve heats. Robert Lambert was their top scorer with nine points.

Marco Domeniconi

Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme, 11 Route de suisse, 1295 Mies