2017 FIM ISDE Junior World Trophy

Team manager: Frédéric Weill
Riders: Jeremy Miroir, Hugo Blanjoue, Anthony Geslin


Not to be outdone by their senior class team-mates, France’s FIM Junior World Trophy team also claimed ISDE victory on home soil in Brive, finishing on top of a thrilling two-nation fight to the very end of the final day against Italy. Reigning champions Sweden got their title defence off to the best possible start by topping the opening day some twenty-eight seconds ahead of Italy, but their challenge was effectively over on day two when Mikael Persson (Yamaha) ran into technical issues and failed to finish the day, allowing the USA to take over at the top.

Third on day one and second on day two, the French trio of Jeremy Miroir (Husqvarna), Hugo Blanjoue (Yamaha) and Anthony Geslin (Beta) stepped up on day three, finishing twenty-six seconds ahead of Italy to open up a thirty-nine second lead over their Transalpine neighbours as the USA dropped back to third. With just 0.07 seconds between France and Italy on a close day four, France managed to re-establish a twenty-eight second advantage by the end of day four although there was still no room for error during the final full day of competition, with the USA also just under two-minutes behind the leaders.

Italy went on the offensive during the final day motocross races but France hung on to take the overall win by a slender fifteen seconds, much to the delight of the thousands of spectators who turned out to enjoy the thrilling finale. Italy hung on to the runner-up spot ahead of day-six winners the USA, who rounded out the podium.



2017 FIM ISDE World Trophy

Team manager: Frédéric Weill
Riders: Jérémy Tarroux, Loïc Larrieu, Christophe Nambotin, Christophe Charlier



The 92nd running of the FIM International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) in Brive, France, was a memorable one for the home nation, who took a clear victory in the FIM World Trophy despite being made to sweat through the final two days with Christophe Nambotin (KTM) forced to ride with broken bones in his hand.

Day one of the dramatic event saw defending champions the USA run into immediate trouble, with Thad Duvall (Husqvarna) crashing on the opening special test and badly injuring his left wrist. Along with Chile and Japan the USA were one of three teams who saw one of their riders’ fail to reach the finish of day one, whilst in stark contrast the French celebrated victory despite Loic Larrieu (Yamaha) picking up a one-minute time penalty.

Competing over the exact same course on day two, a French team that also included Jeremy Tarroux (Sherco) and Christophe Charlier (Husqvarna) extended their advantage over Australia to four minutes and nineteen seconds and then had three riders in the top four on day three as they edged further clear. France again dominated day four but their seemingly unstoppable charge to the title was thrown into doubt as Nambotin picked up a serious hand injury, allowing Australia to take a 28-second chunk out of their lead on day five. 

With questions over Nambotin's fitness for the final-day motocross races, even a sizeable seven-minute and thirty-two second cushion did not look safe although all four French riders made it to the line without problems, Nambotin producing one of the most hard-fought performances of the event to ensure the home nation took the spoils. Final day victory for Australia secured second  place ahead of Finland.


2016 FIM SuperMoto of Nations


The eleventh edition of the FIM SuperMoto of Nations took place in warm and sunny conditions at the Circuit d’Alcarràs in Spain in October. Sixteen teams from thirteen countries – including Estonia, Poland, Latvia, Switzerland, Belgium, Portugal, and the returning Brazil - were all looking to dethrone defending champions France, who lined FIM SuperMoto World Champion Thomas Chareyre (TM) up with Sylvain Bidart (Honda) and, for the first time, Laurent Fath (Honda). With riders number one and two taking part in the first race of three, there was a perfect start for France as Chareyre stormed to victory from seventeenth on the grid, taking the lead from Fath on the third lap and leading his young team-mate to a French one-two.

Third place in that race for Milan Sitniansky (Honda) established the Czech team as France's main threat but a strong second place for Fath in a Race 2 won by Germany's Marc Reiner Schmidt (TM), combined with fourth for Czech rider Petr Vorlicek (Suzuki), extended the French team's advantage ahead of the third and final race.

A dominant Race 3 win for Chareyre by almost ten seconds from Schmidt, who virtually single-handedly lifted the Germans onto the overall podium, sealed a convincing victory for France, adding the 2016 edition to their successes of 2007, 2010, 2011, 2014 and 2015.


Sébastien Bonnal


Thomas Chareyre
Laurent Fath
Sylvain Bidart


2016 FIM Motocross of Nations


The 70th Motocross of Nations took place in front of an 85’000 crowd at the historic and iconic Maggiora Park circuit north of Milan, Italy, and the traditional season curtain-closer could not have bade farewell to the motocross campaign in a better fashion. Wearing the ‘1, 2, 3’ plates as reigning champions and winners in Latvia in 2014 and so memorably on home turf at Ernee last year, the French squad made up of 2015 FIM MXGP World Champion Romain Febvre, backed up by Gautier Paulin (2015 FIM MXGP runner-up) and Benoit Paturel (3rd in 2016 FIM MX2 World Championship), again lifted the Peter Chamberlain Trophy after a close and dramatic contest that was decided on the last lap of the third and final race.

Maggiora was packed to the rafters for three races that brought the twenty fastest countries together with their three-man teams from an initial entry of thirty-eight. After the superiority of Febvre’s first race win, Italian Tony Cairoli’s 2-2 scorecard that thrilled the crowd, the dice between USA’s Jason Anderson and MX Open class winner Jeffrey Herlings, and Anderson’s bizarre post-race accident, Cooper Webb needed to gather vital points for the Americans but fell with two laps to go. After a resurgent charge by the Dutch and Febvre’s last lap pass on Britain’s Tommy Searle for fourth place, the French were able to celebrate for the third time and only fifteen years after they ‘owned’ the Nations for the very first time. It could not have been much closer.


Pascal Finot


Benoit Paturel
Gautier Paulin
Romain Febvre