2019 FIM Long Track of Nations

Team Manager: Laurent Sambarrey 
Riders: Dimitri Bergé, Mathieu Trésarrieu, David Bellego and Stéphane Trésarrieu

© GoodShoot

© GoodShoot


France retained the FIM Long Track of Nations title on an evening of surprises and great racing in Vechta, as the favourites Germany faltered on their home turf.  

The two lowest scoring teams were eliminated after the qualifying races, The Netherlands and Sweden missing out of the final stages, whilst top qualifiers Germany were drawn to meet the lowest scoring Czech team in the first of the semi-finals. However, when the Czechs roared out of the start a shock was clearly on the cards.  

Martin Smolinski top scored in the event, but he was unable to make up lost ground for the Germans after a slow start and a 6-9 defeat left them out of the final to the disappointment of the thousands of fans on the terraces. There was more drama in the second semi-final, won by Chris Harris for Great Britain only for his teammate Zack Wajtknecht to retire with machine problems. Consequently, the French took the race and headed for the final against the Czechs. 

The final looked like it might produce another surprise as the Czech riders took winning positions behind the leading Mathieu Trésarrieu, although it was Dimitri Bergé who secured the title when he overtook Hynek Stichauer on the third lap to give the French a victory by 8-7 and start wild celebrations in the French camp.  

A consolation silver medal for the Czech team was well deserved, whilst Germany took bronze with a higher qualifying score. 


World title – 2018, 2019

2018 FIM Team Long Track World Champion

Riders: Mathieu Trésarrieu, David Bellego, Dimitri Bergé, Stéphane Trésarrieu
Team Manage: Laurent Sambarrey


Riders from six countries did battle for the FIM Team Long Track World Championship in 2018, with France coming out on top of a thrilling event in front of their ecstatic home fans in Morizes. Teams of three riders, plus a reserve, over 15 heats to decide the destination of the Don Godden Trophy, with the French team living up to their billing as the pre-event favourites with a comfortable eight-point winning margin over Great Britain.

2017 winners Germany, who had won eight out of the eleven previous finals, had a significantly weakened team for this year with Martin Smolinski unavailable, Michael Härtel and David Pfeffer both injured and the out-of-form Stefan Katt giving his place to one of the younger riders. With Dimitri Bergé and Mathieu Trésarrieu both in contention for the individual championship it was easy to see why France were so well fancied and they did not disappoint, taking a crucial 10-5 win over the Brits when they met in Heat 2 and never looking likely to lose their lead.

Great Britain last won the competition in 2015 and their second place was well earned with both James Shanes and experienced captain Chris Harris scoring heavily, whilst the depleted German team were very happy with their bronze medal place after the selection problems that had surrounded Team Manager Josef Hukelmann.

The Netherlands also had injury problems with Romano Hummel and Henry Van der Steen both out, putting the pressure on Theo Pijper, whose 20 points were just not enough to lift them onto the podium as they finished four points adrift of third place.


2017 FIM Team Long Track World Champion

Team Manager: Josef Hukelmann
Riders: Michael Hartel, Martin Smolinski, Stephan Katt, Lukas Fienhage


Germany regained the Team Long Track World Championship in Roden with an impressive victory over France and the host nation, The Netherlands. Last year's runners-up had been the pre-meeting favourites and they soon lived up to that billing, establishing a healthy score in the early stages. However, it was the manner of their win and the team effort that was most impressive.

Their most experienced rider, Stephan Katt willingly stood down to allow 18-year-old reserve Lukas Fienhage the experience of a World Championship final and the youngster responded by contributing 11 valuable points. Captain Michael Hartel added 22 points but the critical factor was the performance of the experienced Martin Smolinski, who brushed aside a disappointing performance at the Stockholm Speedway Grand Prix on the previous evening and made the dash to Roden in time to post 28 valuable points and secure the gold medal for his country.

The silver medal was won by a solid looking French team, for whom Dmitri Berge surprisingly outscored individual world champion Mathieu Tresarrieu, whilst last year's champions The Netherlands had to settle for bronze. However, the disappointed Dutch fans could take heart from another good performance from Romano Hummel, who boosted his reputation as one of the sport’s most promising young riders.

The surprise team of the meeting was Sweden, marking their first entry in the championship with a fifth place on count back after finishing level with the Czech Republic on 43 points.

The Netherlands

2016 FIM Team Long Track World Champions

The Netherlands


The Netherlands are the Team Long Track World Champions regaining the title they last won in 2013 after a decisive victory in Marianske Lazne. Germany was the runner up with Czech Republic taking the bronze medal. It was the tenth staging of this championship which has been shared between only three countries in its history.

The Dutchmen took command from their first race where they secured a maximum 12-3 victory over the Finnish team and they never looked likely to surrender their lead. World individual champion Jannick de Jong led the scorers with 18 points solidly backed by Dirk Fabriek and Theo Pijper and their winning two- point margin would have been greater had Pijper not fallen whilst leading Heat 13. Their all-round strength was such that they did not need to call on their young reserve Romano Hummel who was in the pits helping the team and experiencing his first big Final.

Multiple champions Germany finished in second place mainly due to the efforts of captain Martin Smolinski who was the meeting’s top scorer with 23 points whilst appearing before their home fans spurred the Czech team who were delighted to secure a bronze against strong opposition and comfortably ahead of Great Britain the 2015 winners.


Jannick de Jong
Theo Pijper
Dirk Fabriek
Romano Hummel